Finishing Strongly

Every year Rapha puts the challenge to cyclists to punch out 500km between Christmas Eve and the New Year, and every year I have hoped or aimed to complete it.. and up until this year I have never completed it. 

It has been grinding my gears as normally a 500k week would not be too difficult, especially considering I’m on holidays! With that in mind this year I headed off to Canberra  and Wodonga for family christmas activities with the aim to get through the Festive 500. I figured a few good solid days on dead roads and in the summer heat would also serve as a great training block in my rebuild of fitness. 

BEEEP BEEEP BEEEP BEEEP  5.45am Christmas eve and my alarm rang throughout the lower level of the house -waking most people except for me. 5.50am and I was up and at ’em. I had planned to do the famous “Bakery Bunch” ride in Canberra – a 60km loop finishing atop the National Arboretum hill climb. I had no idea of the intensity or pace of the ride as a whole, with only a rough awareness of the pace coming “on” before the final climb – however when NRS riders (both men and women) rolled up along with World Tour pro Nathan Haas, I figured it wasnt going to be too much of a cruise. 

Two hours later and I made it to the top of the final climb, and its fair to say I wasnt in contention for line honours. It was a great ride around Canberra, and it was great to not be navigating for once. At the conclusion of the loop it was off to the coffee shop for post ride brews! 

By the time I pressed “end ride” on the Wahoo Elemnt it was 112km toward the 500k goal, and it was time to eat all the calories required for the final 380km! 

Strava Link Here;

Following a Christmas Day commute to the NSW/VIC border, the next planned deposit in the Festive 500 account was planned for boxing day. A commute from the top of Falls Creek back to Wodonga via the Kiewa Valley. 

A strong and hot northerly wind ensured that while the first 30k was easy down from falls, the following 90 were anything but. It was a tough slog in to the wind, only made harder once my bottles seemed to become superheated thanks to the 38 degree weather. Not too much more to add on this ride.. it was tough. 

Strava Link Here;

 The following day I wanted to see some roads I had not ridden before, and subsequently planned a loop over Mt Granya, another 120km. A storm in the morning meant the afternoon was a more fitting option, fortunately by then it was again 36 degrees and a bazillion percent humidity. It was a nice tap out and over the climb on the course, followed by a glorious cross tail wind back towards Wodonga. The Mt Granya climb was a nice gradual XX% clinb for XXkm allowing for a nice easy consistant rythym amongst the gum trees, definitely a climb I would like to do again in cooler weather (and better form). 
Strava Link here;

For the third and final day on the border, I again planned to see new roads, and headed out towards Yackandandah and Myrtleford, looping back via Stanley and Beechworth. My loop closely followed what one of the finishes to the up coming Jayco Herald Sun Tour will look like. It will be cool to see Chaves and Froome smacking it up the climb to ditch the sprinters in hope of stage glory!

Strava Link;

With only 40k to finish off the Festive 500, I was looking forward to some easier faster rolling roads back along the beach at home! The roads of both Canberra and Albury/Wodonga felt like riding in honey (or maybe Im just unfit?!)

A beach road ride was all that was needed to tick over the 500k challenge presented by Strava and Rapha. Completing the challenge after finally committing to it was quite satisfying. The three back to back days of riding in Wodonga were a great booster to the confidence of being able to ride each day reasonably well in Adelaide while spectating the Tour Down Under!

I ended the year with 14250km and xxxxxm of climbing, while I didnt reach my 16000km goal, there are pretty clear reasons for that, and im sure I would have smashed it out of the park had it not been for a couple of compulsory weeks (6+) on the couch!

Until next time, safe riding!

Leave a comment